Annual Award Nominations

Robert H. H. Hugman, Con Corazón and Deep in the Heart Awards Nominations

Award nominations open through April 29, 2019. (Nominations made by completing the form below)

Each year, San Antonio’s hospitality industry recognizes two individuals (or organizations) for extraordinary contributions to the city and the industry. Nominations for the Robert H. H. Hugman Award and the Con Corazón Award are now open and will be accepted through Monday, April 29, 2019. In addition to these two legacy awards, we are introducing a new honor this year, recognizing organizations (or individuals) who excel in charitable giving in San Antonio, benefiting our community. This new award is titled, Deep In the Heart – a passion for giving.

Read below for the award criteria and nomination form.

Winners will be announced at Visit San Antonio’s Mid- Year member engagement event taking place on Wednesday, May 14th.  This will be in conjunction with the City of San Antonio’s Official National Travel and Tourism Week Proclamation Presentation immediately following the Awards Event at 5:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Robert H. H. Hugman Award

The Robert H. H. Hugman Award was established to recognize people who have left a lasting legacy for changing the landscape or footprint of the destination. Previously known as the San Antonio Hospitality Industry Hall of Fame Award (1990-1998), the honor was renamed for the architect who designed the River Walk.


  • Nominee has gone above and beyond and worked tirelessly to promote San Antonio as a travel and tourism destination on a continuing basis without regard to personal advantage or self-enrichment;
  • Nominee’s contributions to San Antonio’s travel and tourism industry have made long-lasting, significant promotional and economic impact in our city and have truly helped change the landscape or footprint of the destination.

Previous Winners:

  • San Antonio Conservation Society
  • Cortez Family
  • G. “Jim” Hasslocher
  • Daughters of the Republic of Texas
  • SeaWorld San Antonio
  • Henry and Mary Ann Noonan Guerra
  • Rosemary Kowalski
  • Beyer/Lyons Family
  • Paseo del Rio Association
  • H.B. Zachry Family and Company
  • Robert H. H. Hugman
  • Henry G. Cisneros
  • Sharon Eason
  • Lila Cockrell
  • David Robinson
  • Roger Flores, Sr.
  • Irby Hightower
  • Siegfried Richter
  • Mexicana Airlines
  • Viola Barrios and the Barrios Family
  • Milton Guess
  • Don Strange
  • Al Sturchio
  • Arthur Coulombe
  • Marty Wender
  • Henry Feldman
  • Sheryl Sculley
  • Cosmo Frank Guido/Guido Construction

Con Corazón Award

Established in 2009, the Con Corazón Award recognizes a person or organization that has helped make San Antonio a better place to live and visit by bringing long-term, prestigious exposure to our city. Their work exemplifies why San Antonio is Deep. In the Heart.


  • Nominee has demonstrated leadership and excellence in their respective industry

Previous Winners:

  • San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium
  • Morgan’s Wonderland/SOAR/Gordon Hartman
  • Southwest Airlines
  • The Pearl
  • Johnny Hernandez
  • Janet Holliday
  • Greg Kowalski
  • A Night in Old San Antonio (NIOSA)
  • Andres Andujar

Deep in the Heart – A Passion for Giving

The Deep In The Heart … a passion for giving Award was established to recognize an organization (or individual) that works tirelessly to give back to non-profit charities in the City of San Antonio through various initiatives. Some of these include, but are not limited to, volunteerism, monetary contributions and the donation of in-kind products and services that directly benefit charitable organizations.


  • Organization (or individual) must be based in Bexar County
  • The organization (or individual) is either directly or indirectly involved in the hospitality and tourism industry
  • The organization (or individual) has been a strong advocate for the City of San Antonio, and their program of giving has been established for more than five years

Nominee Form

About the Nominee
(note: nominee must have become CTA in 2017 or earlier and may not have been the recipient of the CTA of the Year Award in 2017, 2018 or 2019.)